ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Barnabee.

What a day. My caffeine detox has not gone well. I feel so sorry for all the ladies I work with - I have just moaned ALL DAY. My head is pounding and I'm so sleepy I'm struggling to keep my eyes open at my desk.

The highlight of my day came in the afternoon: This year, international gin day and international juggling day co-incided and one of the ladies in my department organised an event for the whole office with gin tasting and jugglers to celebrate. We got to finish at 3.45pm and try a few different kinds of gin - Sipsmith, Botanist, Tanquray Rangpur and Blackwood - while eating copious amounts of snacks, and catch up with secondees and people from other departments that we don't normally get to see that much of. Later, a couple of guys from Aberdeen Uni came to juggle and eat fire. They were... OK... Which probably made their show all the more impressive and exciting (I genuinely thought at one point we were going to have to use the fire extinguisher that had been strategically placed near the least sozzled staff member).

We invited the jugglers in for gin, and they tried to show us how to juggle... But everyone had consumed a few bottles by that point, so it was a bit of a futile exercise... However - I did manage to spin a plate on a stick, which I was absolutely delighted about! All in all, a very good event, and I almost forgot my sore head.

When I got home, M organised dinner while I slept on the sofa. I woke up and demolished the steak and beans he'd made me, then promptly fell right back asleep again until he woke me up for bed. Rock and roll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.