Living my dream

By Mima

Hopeless!

I really haven’t improved my selfie-photography. This is the best of this morning’s attempts, and still you only get half of Bean and half of Mima; although at least you do see some of both of us.

The dawn chorus is incredibly loud at the moment and invariably wakes me up. It kicks off at 4.30am, and of course once Bean knows I’m stirring she is instantly wide awake and wants to get up. We have a bit of a stand-off every morning this time of year as she tells me she’d quite like my attention, and I tell her to settle down for a bit longer. 

If I can then drift off back to sleep I usually get another hour-and-a-bit before Bean jumps on me. But if my brain starts whirring and I can’t sleep again, she knows exactly what’s going on and I get 10 minutes peace. At most.

Thus it was this morning that we were up and at it before 5.30am. To be honest I didn’t mind too much: it was 18C and the sun was shining in through the truck door. 

Soon I was mowing grass, line trimming, weeding and surveying the crops.

I have picked two big buckets of broad beans, which I’ll pod, blanch and freeze. The first handful of pea pods gave me a big flavourful mouthful of summer. 

Then I spotted some almost ripe raspberries on the canes. My first reaction was “Yay!!” Then I thought “Oh bugger!”…. the crazy time is about to start, when picking them takes me an hour or more every second day. 

Let the madness begin…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.