An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Out, out...

I've been awaiting a delivery of batteries for all the candles and tea lights (no real flame candles since Lola came into our lives :-) and they arrived today, so my main task this morning was getting the new batteries into the candles.  Remind me not to volunteer for that task next Christmas!  It took ages! But worth the effort as the effect around the house is lovely.

After lunch I filled in the butcher's order form for my Christmas and New Year meals.  Just need to remember to hand it in to the shop before next Friday!

Our friends Keith and Mairi were supposed to be staying over this evening and we had booked dinner at a local hotel.  Unfortunately Mairi isn't well so they weren't able to come but D and I decided to go out for dinner anyway. We've re-scheduled with Keith and Mairi for 19th December in the same restaurant and D and I are back there again for lunch on Christmas Eve, so we are certainly supporting their profit margin this month! 

I am so glad we decided to go ahead as the food was amazing, the service fabulous and the whole place beautifully decorated for Christmas.  Such a lovely atmosphere and good chat with the waiters and waitresses who know me now from my monthly lunches there with friends Fiona and Janice.  It's so lovely to have such a wonderful place close enough to walk to so we can both enjoy a glass (or two) of wine :-)

I took a photo of our dessert as I have never had anything quite like it before.  It was sticky toffee soufflé with egg nog ice cream and brandy toffee sauce.  What a taste sensation!  The soufflé was as light as a feather, which I am sure belies the calories it contained, but as everything is calorie free in December, I'll not concern myself with that ;-))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.