An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Festive fun...

I was asleep just after midnight and slept till my alarm went off at 7am.  Seven hours sleep all in one go?!!!  I cannot remember the last time that happened!  It's been years and years!  Felt fantastic! :-))

After lunch we had a final push to get the last of the Christmas decs up.  The tree lights are now arriving tomorrow so that will have to wait till then.

I finally sat down with my gift list to check what gifts still had to be bought. That led me to place a couple of online orders and I will organise Esme's Edinburgh Zoo membership tomorrow (annual membership is much better value than vouchers) and the rest I can get locally, so I finally feel on top of things.  

I've also written the family Christmas cards.  I decided this year to only send family cards and instead make a donation to the Trussel Trust food bank in Perth. I feel it's a better use of money than postage stamps on cards that will probably not be delivered on time anyway due to the strikes.

I'd forgotten I bought a tiny little Christmas tree for my studio a couple of weeks ago so got a lovely surprise when D appeared with it.  I put some tiny lights on it and it's now on the window in front of my desk.  It makes me very happy :-))

Finished off some little paintings I started yesterday.  I was particularly happy with these little Christmas gonks (yes that's what they are incase you haven’t guessed :-) painted very loosely.  

I love loose watercolour paintings and I try so hard to create my own but the control freak in me always takes over and my loose watercolours end up with more detail than I intended and usually doodled over, but I was determined to leave these two alone.  And I almost managed it.  I added some silver pen to the red gonk and will frame it for Alan as part of his Christmas.   I know he will like the touch of silver :-)

Keeping an eye on the weather as hoping pal LeeAnne will be here for lunch tomorrow followed by a visit to the Arts and Antiques centre, and if we have time, a trip to the Christmas shop in Crieff.  I'm usually in there in June so will be nice to be there in the right season!  Fingers crossed the snow stays away! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.