A cause

I support a number of charities. Always have.

Now I have a cause.

Those of you who have followed and read the decline into ill health of the past two years probably know that Endometriosis is the fundamental cause of my problems. What you don't know is that the hysterectomy and other stuff that's been done isn't a cure. It has resolved a number of problems and has reduced the likelihood of deteriorating to such a painful existence again. But ultimately, there is no cure for endo for as long as there is oestrogen in the body. So, they left an ovary to stop me from going into menopause...oestrogen...alternatively, the ovary goes...no oestrogen but menopause and likely HRT...reintroduce oestrogen.

Endometriosis is a debilitating disease, not well know but affects up to 10% of women in the UK. It varies in severity and can be paradoxical in terms of symptoms...it is not always the case that extensive endo causes extreme pain. Conversely, small amounts can be crippling. It causes infertility, scarring and affects women badly because it goes undiagnosed for years...in my case, nearly 20 years.

So, I have a cause. To raise awareness. And when I am fit, to find some way to raise funds to support research into diagnosis, treatment and cure.

In the meantime...I can manage awareness !

Week 3 of no smoking has begun. Been to the gym this evening. Tomorrow I am at the osteopath to be realigned following the battering I apparently received in surgery...misaligned pelvis. Woohoo. It never ends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.