This is the day

By wrencottage

Thoughtful Gifts

Despite having a ‘no Christmas presents for the adults’ rule in our house, Smithers and I were treated to these two gifts by our eldest son R and his partner T at the weekend.

Both of them were bought in the Lake District during their recent stay there. My wren of course is delightful* – I haven’t been able to do the picture justice, because the tips of the branches are gilded, and it’s a pity that the golden sheen doesn’t show in my photo. I am really going to enjoy framing it and finding a suitable spot in which to hang it. It was bought in a favourite art gallery of ours in Ambleside, so that’s a double reason for me to enjoy it.

The wooden coasters, which were given to Smithers, make up a map of the Lake District when put in a square. Just the job for Smithers to put his mug of tea on, and of course it’s another gift which will bring back many happy memories. This one was bought in Cartmel, and is exclusive to The Larch Tree gift shop, not far from Cartmel Priory, in that pretty little village which we know well.

*P.S. … and of course it will give Smithers yet more opportunities to come up to me, smiling, and murmuring, "Guess what, I’ve just seen a wren …" which he has been doing non-stop since we acquired the permanent wren resident on our bird table in the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.