JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Where the rainbow ends.

Julie came and cut my hair in the morning and we chatted away as usual with quite a lot of discussion of Christmas food.  She didn't know about stollen and is now going to buy a couple of individual ones to give it a try. Afterwards I spent the day reading my way through the latest Anne Cleeves and didn't finish it until it was dark and I couldn't think what to blip. Since I'd been buried in a book all day I opted for a book of my childhood.  The copy I had was a condensed one and I loved it to bits. As an adult I collected old children's books and found this hardback copy. The book was a bestseller from 1912 to the 1950's and was based on a fairy play which was as much a staple of Christmas as Peter Pan.. Being a blatant piece of British imperialist propaganda it didn't survive the 60's. When I acquired this copy I  found it was dedicated to the children of the British Empire but, in reality, only those and such of those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.