Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Shocking

Jax has a shockingly long tongue - so much so that I'm not even sure how he keeps it all in his mouth.  It's also speckled which I believe is a skin pigment that extends from his brindle coat.  Just more reasons to love the beast.

Since I missed my weekly FT with my parents yesterday, we caught up this morning.  As always, it was great to see them and to catch up with each other.  They are taking time to consider the next chapter of their lives and whether it will be in Oregon or perhaps here in NJ - it's a huge decision and deserving of their time to weight the pros and cons.  

After lunch, I looked out and noticed a white throated sparrow that was moving in an odd fashion.  I kept an eye on it for a while but couldn't really determine what was going on.  Then a short while later I went out with Jax and all the birds flew away...except for this one white throated sparrow.  It flew about 10 feet before fluttering to the ground.  To his credit, Jax did not try to grab it, although he was keenly interested.  It took several more short flights, finally ending up next to our garage door where I scooped it up and put it in my "rescue box".  It didn't look in good shape at all so I stashed the box in the garage while I went inside to call my friend who does avian rescue.  She was not home, but said her husband could take the bird and she'd have a look at it later when she returned.  So Jax and I loaded ourselves and the bird into the car and set off.  If anyone can fix this little bird, it will be Giselle.  And if it's damaged beyond repair, she will make sure its life ends painlessly.  I expect I will hear from her in the next few days.  Fingers crossed.

I had a mini pretzel dipped in dark chocolate which was delicious!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.