Marking Time

By Libra

Red or grey squirrel?

Delighted to see this little creature helping itself to some food this morning. I thought it was a red squirrel.  But looking at it again maybe not. It’s larger than a red squirrel so I Googled it. Do red and grey mate? No, say the experts because they are two different species.
What do you think? 
 
 
Monday swimming lesson at the university pool. 
 Another pool dispute.

I am a few minutes late. I see a newcomer in our class.
“No” says the young trainer.
“So, what is she doing there?”
 
“I told her she shouldn’t be in this pool. She shouted at me and carried on swimming.”
 
“Well, we are not having that. Get him to tell her.”
 I point to the young lifeguard who looks about 16. Clearly, he didn’t fancy the job either. 
 
Then I realise the problem. They are scared of us older women, of the abuse they might get.
 
“Go on, be assertive!” I urge them.  
 
Some minutes later the lifeguard approaches the swimmer.
 
“If you don’t mind moving …..”
 
He didn’t get a chance to finish.
She shouted back.
“Yes, I do mind moving!”
 
 Whereupon the young man suddenly found some inner strength and became very official saying she had to move. She did. Reluctantly.
 
Everyone using the National Swimming Academy is used to following the rules. And that sense of discipline filters down to ordinary swimmers.
Break them at your peril or risk getting banned.
  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.