hpx

By hpx

Shortest day

That's out of the way then and in a few weeks we can start to look forward to noticeably longer days. Still another 4-6 weeks until in theory at least we have the coldest days of the year (but at least we'll be able to see how cold it is).

This is some of the garlic and shallots I grew last year. Some say the shortest day is when you should plant garlic and shallots. There is a window of time and I've got a few weeks yet to figure out how I'll manage that task within my recovery limits.

The last couple of years I've planted out it in the dark after a run and while it's sleeting or snowing. I'm not sure why but I guess it was a combination of already being outside in the elements, remembering it needs doing and primal hunter/gatherer instincts.

I think I harvested this crop in 30-something degrees dressed in a singlet and running shorts. Considering wind chill is minus something, that's 30+ more than I blipped these in (not to mention the head to toe layers of merino and down jacket).

Brrr! The things we do for blip ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.