Evening light

The evening light was the one redeeming feature of a difficult day. Walking with me down our road, Mrs P tripped and fell. She damaged her hand and wrist, bruised and scratched her face, and broke her glasses. It took a trip to A&E to establish there were no broken bones, but her hand will be out of action for some days.

What is annoying is that we've had to walk in the road, not on the pavement, since last autumn. A new house is being built; the builders dug up the pavement and have been very slow to restore it. The road is a mess too, and I'm sure that if she could have used the pavement she wouldn't have tripped. I warned them that it was unsafe a several months ago, and now regret that I didn't take it further at the time. I'll have a more determined go at them now, but of course it's a bit late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.