Life through the lens...

By ValC

The Fuddle

Now I know some of you won't know what a Fuddle is, but those living in Yorkshire should.
( may be you also need to be a certain age!)
It's an expression for an ad- hoc buffet. They were usually held in the Mills, or offices at Christmastime.
Food provided by the people who worked there.

Our village Sit and be Fit class had ours this morning, and very enjoyable it was too.
My contribution was cheese scones topped with cream cheese and smoked salmon.
Some members of the Oakenshaw Choir entertained us with Christmas Carols.
We also had a free raffle which Amanda our teacher had organised.  I was lucky to win a huge hamper of goodies. 
It was my friend M. who now has leukemia, who got me to join a few months ago, and although I was  a bit sceptical I now really enjoy it. We have between 35 and 40 each week including about 6 men. Age range between 60 and 90+. As well as the exercise it is  a good get-together especially for people living on their own.  Tea and biscuits afterwards.  All free we just give a donation towards the cost of the Methodist Church Hall.

I called to see M. afterwards and took her a box full of the food from the Fuddle. 
I was happy to see her so cheerful.  We had a good old natter before she had to leave for the hospital to have her daily injection of chemo.
It all seems to be going well at the moment.
So fingers crossed. 


It was certainly a great way to spend a very miserable and foggy day.

PS. There is a film you might like onTV this evening. Very appropriate for all Bus Pass Walkers.
‘ The Last Bus’. BBC2 11.15pm. ( we are going to record it. Past my bedtime! )
Staring Timothy Spall, and his Bus journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.