SoozaDay

By soozaday

Panetonne

It has to cool upside down so it won't collapse. Pretty clever arrangement. I saw this in a bakery once--dozens and dozens of loaves all hanging on racks in the back room. It was terrific!  The Extra shows the dough, glazed with a beaten egg and topped with sugar crystals, just before it went in the oven. Every year I try to sample as many different panetonnes as I can find. This one is from a mix made by King Arthur Flour. I thought it was kind of pricey for some flour, yeast and dried fruit packets, but then I saw one from a local bakery that cost $85, so I can't complain. Yah, you read that right. I don't know what the big deal is, but I won't be trying that one. There's a lot of hurry up and wait time involved in these creations because it's all about yeast. Maybe we're paying for someone's time. Anyway, I will make some from scratch before Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.