Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Human

I have a person, I have a person,
At least,
I think she is the person,
She seems a version
of the person -
without casting an aspersion -
I'm not certain
she is the person
I have.

She is like Grinny*
Here in body but not quite right.
Ah yes,
the aliens came in the night
and left her body
but took her mind,
wiped it clean and made it bright. (She made me write this word.)

I have a person, I have a person
At least
I think she is the person
- a subversion?
Because something isn't right.
I'm not Mabel, Molly, Moo or Minnie
-see, she's definitely Grinny.
How else do you explain
how she could forget my name?

I swear this morning she said,
"Who are you again?"

I have two mahoosive returns this week from our two biggest funders. Two, in one week. There are 52 weeks in the year. Just saying.

Anyway, here's Maud with a fuschia.


*Grinny I used to teach this book when I was an English teacher many moons ago.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.