Number147

By Number147

Wednesday

Roger's funeral.

We took Tim and he was surprised and discombobulated when his sister arrived and sat alongside him.

Roger's children never visited him. The eldest, a priest, conducted the service. His tribute was veiled and very carefully worded. He delivered Corinthians 15:50-57 like he was a professional actor. I almost applauded.

The TV news reader son gave a tribute. Again very carefully worded yet he also showed emotion.

Entrance song was a Mongolian Throat Song called Batzorig Vaanchig. Bizarre.

I asked Tim's sister if she was coming to the wake and she said, "no" before telling me that she and Tim had a difficult relationship. 

Clive decided to get a haircut whilst Tim and I went ahead. Tim was all perturbed and fidgety and said he couldn't relax until he knew whether or not his sister was likely to turn up. I was able to put his mind at rest on that score. He then told me that his sister disapproved of him being a vegetarian (!!!) and their relationship was therefore strained.

Anyway, Roger's family were great. 

I think my own family is so normal that we verge on being boring. Thank the Lord!

A very cold day.

A year ago today was my F-in-L's funeral. We had to drive to Worcester in snow. It was bitterly cold.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.