Keith B

By keibr

A colourful lunch, a white world
, & an old story

Today we both had appointments at Specsavers in the early afternoon so we  went to lunch at the first Indian restaurant in Härnösand.  Here we are, on the way in to lunch. Their colourful sign really stands out on a snowy day.
I've been dropping in to this building for a long time. The first time was in the year 2000, when it was the offices of the local Red Cross organisation, and I was there every week improving their English. A bit later they moved out and the building became a restaurant where I ate lunch regularly for several years because my office was only a 5 minute walk away. 

It was here I learned a rule of waiting on tables, while at an after-work dinner one Friday evening. "Always put the tray down before giving out the drinks". I, and a very inexperienced waiter who wasn't following the rule, learned this the hard way when he tipped the tray and 9 large glasses of red wine poured over me!
I was a little shocked but ran back to work, dumped my shirt and jacket into a plastic bin, put on a spare jumper and returned to the meal, trousers still pretty wet.  The restaurant owner seemed totally uninterested in doing anything about all this, and in the end I and my two neighbours, who also got their share of the winefall, left without paying. Shortly after that restaurant went out of business! 
Today the Indian food is excellent. Lunch is a serve yourself buffet but when we ate there one evening the waiters seemed very competent and no drinks were spilled! There seem a fair number of other people eating every time we go there so hopefully it's doing well.
Our eye-test went well too, as did an interesting trip to Sundsvall rail depot, but you can read all about that in Jan's blip "The wrong side of the tracks".

My body was sending out a few protest signals this morning and it was probably very sensible to take a day off moving snow today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.