TrishaR

By TrishaR

Blackford

It was a beautiful winter’s day, and we set out up the A9 to Blackford to put the wreath at the grave of my Papa and Dad. The countryside was stunning as we drove down the Cairnie Braes looking over to Dunning at the foot of the Ochils. I wondered how often I had made this journey over the years.

We stopped off at Gleneagles to have a look at their Christmas decorations but we could t get in the main Door as they had a whole hotel event taking place and had to go round to the side entrance. I wondered who had so much money that they could hire all that.

Anyway, we went to the Cafe and had a coffee and the difficult decision to. Choose one of the cakes/sponge. We settled on a cinnamon bun which went well with the coffee.

We had a wander round the shops to the jewellers which had a sale on but I’m not getting any more jewellery but then if I had a big win on the lottery then that would be a different story!

We went the back road to Blackford which was just as well as they were worki g in the slip road from the railway crossing so we would have had to divert . The cemetery is in a beautiful spot on the hill overlooking the village with the Ochils in the distance, with a wood on both sides of it. The countryside of my childhood haunts.

This is the first year where I have laid the wreath and not sent a photo to my mum. I miss all that sending of photos and texts during the day , there is no one remotely interested in pictures of my food, a view or some daft comment and an equally daft reply. There would always be a jokey response making us laugh.

We had a walk through the woods and the view down towards Glen Eagles was fabulous, the low winter sun creating beautiful shadows.

We stopped off in Auchterarder as we had to go the back road back anyway and had some takeaway soup and a stovies in a giant yorkie at the AuchterLarder sitting out and it was tasty!

Drive in in time for Ben appearing for tea. He got the stovies and yorkie as I bought some for him. Tonight is the first night of the show and he was rather nervous. He is in the Ensemble.

He got driven up for 5pm and then I had a quiet night on the sofa.

I have an appointment with the dentist on Friday and I’m thinking it will be an extraction….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.