In Which Papa Goose Gets His Happily Ever After

I first saw them there in April of last year: a pair of Canada geese nesting by the big green turtle on Skytop Farm Pond. But while I kept close watch over them, as I passed their pond twice on most days, I never saw any offspring. It seemed their union was fruitless.

Early this spring, I saw the male return to the pond, but he was alone. He seemed despondent; seemed to be looking for something. For his mate? He walked the banks of the pond alone. He wandered through the cow pastures nearby. Then his despondence seemed to turn to a deep depression. On several days, I saw him lying by the road - too close to the road, I thought - and I suddenly realized: perhaps he meant to die.

I stewed over whether to try to organize a goose rescue mission. Could I get him into my car, I wondered, and move him to a pond further from the road, somewhere safe? The thought of the transport - a mission of mercy - seemed mind-boggling. So I watched and waited. But I worried.

But then, one day - wait! look! - suddenly he was alone no more! The female had returned to the little pond by the side of the road. Suddenly, his life had purpose! He was a new goose. I gave a sigh of relief. And I admit I smiled to myself when I passed the pond each day and saw him there, his long neck fully extended, watching over her, guarding her in the tall grass.

And then - even better news! - they were nesting again. I frequently saw the female's head among the grasses along the pond's edge, the male's taller head - neck stretched upright - always watching over her, always nearby.

And, oh - saving the best for last, my friends! - one morning I saw them for the first time: a family of tiny yellow goslings in the sweet green grass along the pond. And the proud parents, watching over them.

You may recall that this is a pond that I love, that I have photographed often. But after about mid-April, I tried to stay away, knowing they were nesting there, not wanting to disturb the little family. This is why you haven't seen any recent pictures of Skytop Farm Pond. Much as I wanted to stop and see, I kept watch from afar. Watched them grow. Watched them start to turn into actual geese, not just fuzzy little yellow fluffballs.

And then on this day, I drove by slowly, and I noticed they were located in a spot where my pulling the car in for a closer look wouldn't harm them or disturb them (much). The little geese are almost adults now. As I pulled in and got out my camera, they lingered by the edge of the pond, and then - one by one - they walked into the water and sailed gracefully off together across the pond, in an orderly little row.

This photo shows what I believe is the Mama Goose and their five offspring. (Canada geese mate for life, so I am betting that while this is their first brood, it will not be their only one.) And always nearby, though not captured in this photo, his long neck extended in the tall grass and on lookout duty: Papa Goose watching over them all with great pride.

The song: the enchanting Alison Krauss, singing Simple Love. This was the tune I had in mind for this photo; and coincidentally, when I searched for various versions of it on YouTube, I found one that features a video of a pair of swans and their young. I think the bird lovers will really enjoy it. (And even if you're not, any excuse to listen to Alison's heavenly voice will do!)

I want a simple love like that
Always giving, never askin' back
For when I'm in my final hour lookin' back
I hope I had a simple love like that . . .


P.S. If you take a look back through a few of my favorite photos of Skytop Farm Pond, I think you will see why they chose this spot for their nest. :-)
Illumination
Skywater
Blue Morning
Sunrise Tree
Impression, Sunrise




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.