The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Recent Acquisitions (Wednesday 13th December 2023)

My desktop PC has been struggling more and more as program upgrades are increasingly not supporting my ancient operating system, including Blip. It's no longer possible to add anything to the map, for example, so I've had to use a newer MacBook to add that later. Other programs won't load at all, to my frustration. Half of Flickr is inaccessible now. The size of the old hard drive means that it is unable to upgrade to newer Windows.

I have therefore bitten the bullet and bought a refurbished PC tower which has Windows 11 on it. I now face the problems of incorporating it into my system and copying files and replacing apps, hoping that I will still be able to use the old DOS programs that I run on my old PC on the new, so that I don't end up having to keep both going.

I anticipate dark hours and unseemly language ahead.

L.
Wednesday 14.12.2023 (1845 hr)

Blip #4008 (#3758 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #213/265 + #090/100 Extras
Day #5010(1194 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3148 (#2988 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DC-LX100M2 M4/3 compact

Recent Purchases series

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Carmel - The Tracks Of My Tears (recorded 1984, Ramport and Sarm West Studios)
Having heard Laetitia Sadier, ex of Stereolab, choose this track to play on Cerys Matthew's Sunday show I realised that although I have two Carmel albums and a few CD singles, I didn't have the album The Drum Is Everything, on which this almost unrecognisable interpretation of the old Miracles number appears. I placed an online order for it (for £2.10) and it came in the day's post. The Hammond organ was added by Peter "Mr Bongo" Saunders who joined the band as the album was being recorded. He had been in Dexy's Midnight Runners.
P.S. I have since played the CD and the one faulty track that won't play is Tracks Of My Tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.