This is the day

By wrencottage

Spectacular Sunrise

This was the sight from our hall window just before 8.00 this morning. When I got up at 6.45 it was (obviously) completely dark outside, but gradually in the far distance the horizon was streaked with orange at its lowest point, and then that gradually turned into a huge fiery red glow, looking for all the world as though the sky was on fire.  It didn’t last for long, and within half an hour the fiery glow had softened to this pinkish mauve, creating a spectacular backdrop for our hall nativity scene, and then within a couple of minutes it had all disappeared.

Since then I’ve managed to make seven packs of ten Christmas cards and take them up to the Atrium and I’ve delivered all the rest of our local cards. I’m just finishing printing and assembling two decorative carrier bags for our youngest granddaughters, and wrapping their presents, and then that’s me done. 

It’s me done in more ways than one, actually. I’ve discovered why I have felt so tired and listless of late – I’ve been brewing up for a bout of bronchitis (I think), and have been feeling pretty ropey today; wheezy, shivery and achey. I shall no doubt be decamping to the spare room tonight to save Smithers from being disturbed by my coughing. (That’s a frequent occurrence during the winter months because I succumb regularly to chest infections.)

However, hopefully this will mean that I get the worst of it over with by Christmas so that I’m not a dampener on the family get-together, especially as The Traveller, who flies back tomorrow, is immunosuppressed and will have to keep his distance from me until I’m germ-free. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.