Igor

By Igor

Alien

It feels alien to me; being here.  Sitting on D&V’s balcony, I’m surrounded by date palms, unfamiliar plants and exotic flowers.  The transition from cold to warm, took only a matter of hours. It’s taking a while for this to become the new normal.

We caught up with Varnika’s family last night.  Her mother, brother, aunt and cousins have arrived from Delhi.  Swimming in a hotel pool as the sun went down and then a walk along the beach - in the dark - to a restaurant (where everyone knows Dan’s name) for dinner.

Anniemay and I are still getting used to the transition; I think about my Dad who came to India in 1941.  By sea and with a stop in Durban.  I guess he was ready for it by the time he arrived.

Although we were here last year and I had spent a couple of months working in Delhi in 1988, the noise, chaos, and colour still has the power to shock the senses.

There are a couple of extras from last night, including Dan's two mums.

And if you haven’t already guessed, it’s the headlamp cluster form Varnika’s new motor scooter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.