carliewired

By carliewired

68 F/20 C

It's been a very
eventful morning and it's
not eight o'clock yet!!!

~carliewired

I walked out to the street to put some letters into my mailbox at dinner time last night. I had to come back inside to get my camera as the sky looked so lovely in the west. I'm not usually out in the dark, so I got a chance to look down the street to see my neighbours'   Christmas lights. That Arizona glow at sunset is always a treat. 

This morning I rolled out of bed just after 7:30. The sun wasn't up yet so the house was a little dim. (I hate turning on lights.) I made for the kitchen to fill the kettle for coffee but nothing came out of the tap. I opened some blinds to have a look out to the street. Nada. I squeezed into my Birkenstocks and threw a hoodie on over my pajamas to walk out to the street. I spied a man on his knees working on the water connection on the other side of the street. I called out to him asking if the water was shut off for the whole street. "Just 5 more minutes.", he replied. 

I walked back into the house for my camera. I could see several fellows in neon yellow tops and some trucks parked along the street further down. This looked like maintenance work replacing water meters so I wondered why I hadn't been warned. It would have been good to have filled my kettle and maybe a bucket of water for the toilet. I caught the sun coming over the Gila Mountains while I was assessing the situation. 

My surprise this morning was finding a hummingbird at the top of my orange tree. I'm thinking this is the one nesting in my tree. It was perched facing into the morning sun. Beautiful!! That was worth getting out there for, even if coffee is late this morning. 

Here it is 9 and I'm just getting my coffee. The five minutes was closer to an hour. Never mind - got my blip early!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.