Everyday Life

By Julez

Friday.

Brian took his last day of annual leave that needed to be used before the end of the year today, to make it a long weekend. I took the opportunity to get him to drive me out to the far-flung care home to visit my Mum. 

I took along the items the staff said she needed - another nightie, some slippers and a Christmas jumper to wear on Christmas day. Last time I visited, she'd been very quiet and sleepy. She was more vocal today - not outright hostile but not exactly welcoming either. Much of what she says is not very coherent these days. Everyone on the wing she's on has dementia of some sort. 

Brian collected me and suggested going out for lunch somewhere, and we went to the William Foster in town. I had a Veggie breakfast with veggie sausages, eggs, beans, mushrooms, tomato, hash browns and toast which I washed down with Budweiser. Afterwards we went for a drink in the Cardinal's Hat. I had a couple of G&T's in there, with delicious sour cherry gin and lemon tonic, which you can see in the thumbnail. We sat in the little "snug" behind the bar and this was taken looking through the window into the main bar

The small snug became full of lairy lads having Christmas drinks so although we could have stayed longer we decided to come home. As we left the pub we noticed that the sky was a riot of colour as the sun went down. (See extra)

Happily all my parcels are now delivered. I hope to have everything wrapped that can be tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.