Fluked It!

The Red Arrows aerobatic display team are based at nearby Waddington, recently relocated from Scampton - also fairly close by. For as long as I have been Blipping I have tried in vain to get a shot of them practicing in the skies over Lincoln - I've managed the odd blurry, distant indistinct photo and that's it!

Today I decided to head into town and try to get some of the last few things I need as stocking filler type presents. As I walked I noticed white circles in the sky left by the planes. "Typical! Missed them again!" I thought. The patterns looked good against the clear blue sky so I thought I may as well photograph them anyway. As I focussed the camera I heard a rumble of engines and saw the planes coming back for another go at the loop. (See extra!)

Yes! My best chance ever for getting a shot of them. I'm not saying that this is a particularly good shot and anyone with any proper knowledge could probably find a hundred faults with it but it is the best I've ever managed and I'm happy with it!

My intention for today was to entirely finish buying for Christmas but last night my boss called begging me to work tonight as he has to cover for someone at the other shop who is moving house tonight. I agreed, and I'm getting Saturday off instead which is better than having to do four nights but I am at my Dad's Saturday so won't be able to go to town. 

There are still some things I need to get and will have to go Sunday. Hopefully I can get it done quickly! My boss always leaves things late, making it very difficult to plan things to fit in around work and Dad. Masood, who I worked with earlier this week mentioned his colleague at the other shop was moving, and I'm sure Hekmat would have known too, so why he had to leave it until the day before to ask someone to cover, or why he didn't just give me the Thursday shift in the first place I do not know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.