spannarama

By spannarama

All aboard the Christmas train

I worked at home this morning - and had a long catch-up with my boss - then got packed up and Tim drove me to Barnstaple to catch the train to London.  Had a good journey (apart from a glacially slow approach into Paddington), and managed to get nearly all my Christmas cards written on the way. 

Caught the Elizabeth Line to Canary Wharf, to meet my friend Lizzie for dinner.  I managed to fall over on the way to meet her, thanks to a very wet pavement and those stupid ridges they install for 'grip' at the bottom of stairs - I must have caught them just wrong and went flying, landing heavily with my ribs on my suitcase.  Nothing broken, thankfully (me or the suitcase), and a nice security guard then carried my case up the stairs for me (and a kind man handed me my glasses, which I hadn't even realised had flown off my head).  I did feel quite bruised and jarred for the rest of the evening though.

Anyway, met Liz shortly after that and we went to Caravan for a really delicious dinner, and a good old catch-up.  Lovely :)  I caught the DLR to Greenwich afterwards and checked into my hotel, which was right next to the station - so quick and easy!  Chatted with Tim, then got myself to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.