talloplanic views

By Arell

In need of replacement

Someone has stolen the life ring/buoy thing by the canal at the Leamington bridge.  It's OK really: just make sure you don't fall in, and you'll be fine.

I wanted to catch the post before it went this morning so I was up early.  Actually, I'm lying.  I was up early because my brain was racing, busily composing draft responses invoking various exemption clauses from FOI legislation.  Shut up, brain!

Going into town afterwards was a chance to not think about work, and to give the new-old saddle a longer try, because I had to deliver a couple more Christmas cards.  On the way in, and since I was passing, I visited Projekt Ride, which looked a bit kind of showroom-hipster, possibly run by guys who weren't even born when SPD pedals came out, and potentially disparaging to this middle-aged gal with tricky ergonomic needs.  But they were cool, and helpful.  I test rode a touring bicycle, even though the frame was a size smaller than I wanted; the entire UK is out of stock apparently.  But even so, it felt quite a lot nicer to ride than my own faux-touring mountain bike.  Fortunately – or perhaps unfortunately – they sure don't make 'em like they used to.  I keep wanting to say good riddance to my blue bike…but y'know, it's made of Tange Prestige steel, and is therefore much too good to throw in the attic and forget about.  Maybe the cool kidz on Retrobike will want it.

Later on, I managed to buy a croissant from Kafe Kweer, and they gave me a free sourdough loaf to take away as well.  Then it was into the wind and home via the supermarket to get a couple of things I forgot the other day.  And the fancy leather saddle?  Ah yes.  I remember why I stopped using it last time.  It's actually too narrow and, er, the wrong shape.  After 20 miles I couldn't wait to get off it.  Back to the drawing board I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.