iaint

By iaint

Ach...

Well, I tried. 

While I was eating breakfast yesterday I noticed a bird at the feeder which did not look familiar. Once I had found my glasses I was able to confirm I did not recognise it, but had no idea what it was.

A little research (after breakfast) revealed it to be a nuthatch. They were not native to Scotland until relatively recently and have extended their territory northwards as the climate has changed. 

It was back this morning, and indeed spent most of the morning guzzling peanuts out there - much to the frustration of the usual feeders (great tits and blue tits). The nuthatch chased them off when they tried to share. 

As you will see from the Blip, I tried to get a photo as proof but like most birds that size, it never stays still. I did manage to find a better image on Youtube. 

That was as exciting as my day got. 

In fact I was tired after my day yesterday, so just reading and cooking and cleaning up suited me nicely. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.