Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Feeling Blue Again

Common Blue Butterfly - Polyommatus icarus (male)

Two days ago, I blipped a common blue damdsel-fly and a fellow blipper, Orchid99, blipped a common blue butterfly. I told her I wasn't expecting them in Fife for another 2 weeks.
How wrong I was.

Yesterday I was out for two hours and saw no butterflies at all despite it being warm and bright (7 octas altocumulus) but rather humid and a very light air.
Today was slightly warmer, sunnier and less humid but slightly windier. I saw at least a dozen whites, but since none of them settled, I cannot be certain of their ID. On my way back I was lucky enough to spot a blue - and then a second one as they fought over territory. I actually managed 32 shots of one - mostly with its wings open.
Guess what my favourite colour is?

A couple of others are on my Flickr site.


As a follow-up to my blip yesterday of a satellite-tagged seal, I returned to the same spot this afternoon to see if it was still there. Imagine my surprise when I found not one but THREE wearing satellite transmitters! I think someone is studying this local population. There are about three groups of offshore rocks that the seals haul out on. The one nearest the shore (the only one that I can photograph) generally has about 20 seals hauled out.
I emailed the Sea Mammal Research Unit in St Andrews at lunchtime today but as yet have had no reply.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.