ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Bella Ciao

Bella Ciao is the tune Nan and Flynn are trying to play on the piano.  I had to show them how it's done.  'But we cannot read notes,' cried Nan, in a panic.  'No need to read notes,' I explained.  'Instead, you do it by ear!'  And I played it for them several times, and then showed them where to put their fingers on the keyboard, and how to match the pattern.  They wanted to play at the right speed immediately, very impatient of them, and I had to explain that speed with the right notes was something that had to be practiced, and they couldn't just hit any combination of keys and expect a perfect result.  Playing is not simply a matter of flicking on a switch.  Flynn started to 'get there', but I fear that Nan will experience some disappointment with many things, poor dear.  She is a fearless little thing, though, and she will discover what she could be good in one of these days.

Indeed, an unexpected early season visit from Son and Rani and the children!  AW went to buy some snacks and drinks, none of which the children wanted, but the cookies were fully appreciated by everyone; that is, except myself.  There was a lot of catch-up, but the piano took up most of the time.  To think that I'd only begun a few days ago.  The jump to makeshift piano teacher was a shock.  However, as I am already a teacher of other things, the 'teaching gear' kicked into place fast.

Many of the usuals did not take place, but I did finish kitchen duties by the end of the evening.  We will most likely not see them till Rani's birthday early in January.  In the meantime, still waiting for the Compromise draft, which I'm sure the Viking will send me very soon.

Thankful for my piano, and, believe it or not, I never thought I would ever say that.  Nine points if you can guess how old the sonata album is in the shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.