The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Not called a longhorn for nothing!

Today was a really, really good day!
It has been very warm and humid, and despite being overcast the car was telling me it was still 27 degrees when I finished work.
I decided to go for a quick stroll round the wonderful Southwater woods, hoping to maybe to see some wasp beetles, or interesting hover flies.
Well, I wasn't disappointed! No wasp beetles, but instead this amazing Golden-bloomed grey longhorn beetle (Agapanthia villosoviridescens).
I was amazed to see one here in Sussex, as it isn't noted as occuring in Sussex at all, but I guess as with all these things it is under recorded.
Funnily enough it was one of the species I hoped to see when I went to Norfolk a few weeks ago. This isn't the first time I have travelled miles to see something only to come home and find it on my doorstep. A good lesson to be learned methinks!
Enjoy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.