Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Landing gear engaged ...

I really thought I was all set to give you another dragon today (the rather stunning Calico Pennant) but then I went out to sit on the patio and the hummers came ... and here I am, blipping a hummer. Can't help myself. Love these tiny birds. I was a bit concerned a month ago because the hummer activity seemed very slow, but in the last week things have picked up as more and more of them have found their way to our yard/woods. Last night when it rained, there must have been 6-8 hummers swarming the feeders, engaging in spectacular arial battles, and generally delighting me.

Today as I watched the action, one of the ladies engaged in a full on battle with another female and the victor had a victory feather in her beak when it was over. Crazy little things. In case you are wondering, the little female pictured here was coming in for a landing on one of the feeders, the edge of which I cloned out of the image. Not a perfect picture, but when I look back at my journal I want to remember things like this.

Thanks for the lovely comments on yesterday's dashing Dasher. He won't be the last dragon you'll be seeing in my journal so stay tuned... And, if you'd like to see a few other dragons (including the aforementioned Calico Pennant), I've posted 10 pictures on Flickr, starting HERE. There is even a rare (for me) landscape attempt.

Tomorrow morning I am off to the doctor. Unfortunately, I think I may have gotten Lyme Disease again. I have a bite on the back of my knee that is behaving exactly like a diseased tick bite, culminating in a rash. Shit. Poop! Can anyone give me any reason why ALL ticks shouldn't die??? I'll get the test done tomorrow and most likely will be put on a course of antibiotics - must be sure to ask the doc to give me something that isn't sun-sensitive as I can't bear the idea of not being outside for 2-3 weeks. YUCK.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.