Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Junior comes in for a landing ... sort of

I know, I know - I'm blipping another woodpecker! Don't say I didn't warn you - I'm totally crushing on the new family, especially Junior. Here he is, having fumbled his landing at the Clothesline Bistro. He hung upside down for about a minute, as if trying to figure out what the hell just happened. He then flew over to the nearby pine tree and proceeded to give the branch a sound pecking! Then, he flew over to one of my limbs on the deck and practiced his zen moves. I like this shot because you can see his little red feathers on his crest, and his shiny little eyes. What a doll - can you blame me for blipping him again???

And he is even cuter in LARGE!

Also in breaking backyard news - the next generation of katydids seems to be doing well. Young Seamus has taken up residence on one of the dahlias in the garden, just about the same spot Seamus Sr used to hang out last year. He is sharing the plant with a very tiny brown grasshopper nymph, very generous of him.

I was a bit disturbed to notice one of the blue jays with what appears to be blood on his neck and breast feathers. He didn't seem to be injured, so I am not sure if he was attacked or if he killed and ate something that put up a fight. Jays, like most corvids are omnivores, meaning that they will be quite happy to eat small warm or cold blooded creatures, such as baby birds, baby squirrels, mice, frogs, etc. I am not sure what to hope for in this case. Interesting to note that all the jays were acting skittish, and the neighbor's cat has been lurking in our yard of late. I hope this one didn't get bloody defending its own nest from the cats! I do wish the neighbors would not let their cats out, or would at least put bells on them. But, that falls on deaf ears. Alas.

Meanwhile, we have the dreaded Man Cold happening here in our house. Yes, hubs has taken ill. He has retreated to his "cave" (our bedroom) and has only been seen once all day. My offers to bring him things are met wtih a negative grunt. It is a well documented fact that Man-colds are WAY worse than Woman-colds. And don't get me started on male menopause...

I am off to NYC for a couple of days, leaving tomorrow. I am embarking on the next chapter of "how to get my face working again" which this time involves botox injections into the weakened side of my face. Yikes. I'm a bit anxious (okay, scared shitless) about the whole thing, but the OT I've worked with on regaining neuro muscular facial movement is going to be there for the whole thing, and will then work with me for several hours the next day. So off I go. I will probably blip before I leave tomorrow morning...

Thanks for liking my doe and fawn - I was so thrilled to see them that I had to share. For a woman who has never had kids, I seem to be fascinated with baby critters!

Well, hope you have/had a great Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.