Appreciation

By Appreciation

Satsuma

Christmas in one item? It's a Satsuma for me. Firm to the touch, but juicy inside.

As a child, I would rummage in my stocking for mine and have it opened and eaten before breakfast. I would never question how Santa kept them all fresh and stored on his sleigh.

My children would eat them the minute they were in season. Never just one, but 2 or 3 at a time. I've fished many a segment from choking children's throat's as they inhaled them.

They are still particular about the firmness of the skin. I swear my girl can sniff out a ripe Satsuma from 30 paces. My boy misses them in Korea. Fruit is very expensive there.

There has never been a Christmas where they didn't get a Satsuma and a shiny £1 coin in their stockings. I send my boy a picture so he knows he has one. I eat it on his behalf!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.