La vida de Annie

By Annie

Jamón.

Took a hopefully last trip to Lidl before Christmas, so now well provisioned up till then. Now totally skint. I already have the turkey etc in the freezer, and a pudding brought back from my recent trip to the UK, as puds are not a thing here. Also festive meals seem to mostly revolve around salmon and fish dishes, and the much loved leg of ham. The look of them makes me queasy - an obviously complete leg complete with trotters. I prefer my meat to not look anything like the animal it was derived from, and preferably sealed in film.
I remember, many years ago, going with my then father-in-law to Aldgate Market (“Petticoat Lane”), to buy a fresh adult chicken from a halal butcher. Not pleasant watching the slaughter, or seeing it carried home on the tube with the limp head hanging out of the shopping bag. Then the business of plucking, gutting and removing unformed eggs in various stages of development. I couldn’t eat it that day, nor any chicken however packaged, for quite a few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.