MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Trudging around & ramblings about trivia

I asked Terry to drop me off in town and I set off walking to TJ Hughes for something I needed - got there only to realise it was closed and had moved premises!
Off I went to Church Square, which is where the notice said it moved to. Walked all around there and no sign of it so went a bit further - couldn't find it so asked someone and it was in La Grange Arcade. I had walked past it at the start!
They didn't have the item I wanted after all that so I walked around trying to find somewhere else that might sell one but no joy.
Ambled off to Matalan and none there so off to Tesco to pick up my prescription which took a lot longer than expected as they didn't think they had it!
While in Tesco thought I'd check to se if they had the thing I wanted (I can't say what it is as it's a present for someone and I want it to be a surprise). They didn't have one.
Time was getting on now but I walked over to Ravenhead Retail Park and into Argos as I knew they might have one. Great - I found it on a search and then I could order and pay for it but will have to go and collect it Friday morning. That's fine.
I was tired at this stage and not feeling like the walk to the bus stop which was about a mile so I asked Terry if he'd pick me up, which he kindly did, or my lunch would have been very late.
Tomorrow's caching trip with friends is postponed because the forecast is awful - a lot of rain is bad enough but doable - however, there are 45mph winds also forecast so we don't fancy it. 
Are we getting soft or sensible in our old age?
Had an upsetting morning because Mum rang and she is clearly not thinking rationally. I won't go into detail but it's more than short term memory that's the problem now. My brother (who lives there) doesn't think it's a problem but I am pretty sure he will if he experiences something similar. 
My daughter rang and is planning to come with Sofia, her youngest (she is 8) on Christmas Eve, so this will be nice. she said I can get the mince pies out - I told her she'll be lucky as we don't buy them any more! We then had a conversation about how weird it is that tastes change as you get older. I have gone off Christmas cake (so has Karen but she said she only liked the one I used to make anyway). I have also gone off Christmas puds. We didn't get a lot further than that other than a conversation about everything being too sweet nowadays with too much added sugar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.