Maureen6002

By maureen6002

We are not amused ……

Today’s a trip to the School of Tropical Medicine in Liverpool to see my lead consultant. It’s just over two years since my local colorectal surgeon referred my case to them, and they have been amazing - doggedly pursuing answers to my medical issues. 

Whilst we know we’re not quite there yet, clearly I’m far better than I was. Results from the biopsy are as yet incomplete - TB cultures can take weeks - but so far we’re just looking at inflammatory markers. The 3 month drug extension is extended further to 6 months, and I pick up vast quantities of tablets from The Royal’s pharmacy.

We pass the old Royal edifice; never beautiful, it’s now abandoned and dejected, and the long process of demolition has begun. In contrast, the new Royal glistens; part of Liverpool’s ‘Knowledge Quarter’, buildings like this and the Clatterbridge Cancer Centre seem to shine. 

Waiting for my prescription, we walk down to the Christmas Market, the usual lines of food and drink stalls here set amongst winter themed variations of fairground games, a ferris wheel and gigantic wooden Christmas structures.  And amongst all this festive merriment is Thorneycroft’s 1870 statue of a rather stern Queen Victoria sitting sidesaddle on her horse. I suspect she would not be amused ….. 

The hospitals old and new are in extras - the disapproving Queen my main. 

G says thanks for all the praise for his ‘heroics’ - and yes, he was very silly to go in front of the van. we have no idea what happened in the end, but  presumably the driver returned, hopefully duly chastened! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.