Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Lines

   
The Conwy Valley Line winds its way along the river from Llandudno to Blaenau Ffestiniog.  Part of the national rail network, it follows the most beautiful route, and writing this I really wonder why we don’t make more use of it - especially since we get free travel on this line with our bus pass. A resolution for 2024 perhaps. 

This shot is taken from the level crossing at Tal y Cafn looking up the valley - not that there’s much to see today; another grey day with dampness in the air, our outing focusing on errands in Llandudno. 

Back home, I bake two cakes. For much of the year, baking has not been on my radar. More energy and - of course - the influence of Christmas - means I’m enthusiastically preparing not one but three festive cakes as I can’t decide which one to go for. Today it’s my mum’s white Christmas cake which will be G’s birthday cake - he’s 70 on Christmas Day, and Nigella’s incredibly rich chocolate Christmas cake, made gluten free for Solveig’s benefit. 

And finally, a story from yesterday. G had gone for a long walk. I was busy, so hadn’t realised that he was late returning, but he phoned me with the words ‘I’m alright, but …..’. Immediately, I panicked; words intended to reassure created all sorts of disasters in my mind. But he was OK - just embroiled in a runaway van incident. He was walking up the steep hill leading to our home when he spotted a large white van starting -  to roll down the hill. Fortunately, he wasn’t alone, and one other man joined him in stopping the possible disaster. G took the front on the van - much to my horror - his fellow rescuer grabbing a door handle and pulling it back. Fortunately, they managed to push it to the curb. G stayed in strongman pose in front of the van while logs were procured from an adjacent house to wedge the wheels, preventing it from moving further. Immediate disaster avoided, they contacted the police who were predictably not interested. Is it an emergency? they asked. Well it will be if it rolls down the hill into the main road,  replied G. They would attempt to find the driver from the registration number. 

Anyway, having done his bit, the van was secure and he felt able to return home, heroics over! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.