A Night at the Opera …..

 I’m sure when the creative team behind Opera Australia sat down to plan the exciting concept of Carmen performed on the industrial ruins of Cockatoo Island, they envisioned crowds enjoying the show on balmy Sydney evenings. And so, indeed did I. 

Instead, we sit wrapped up in literally every layer we’ve brought along for warmth and weather-proofing - clothes packed as an insurance against the likely weather in, say, Stewart Island far later in our tour. 

It’s rained on and off all day - though we do manage lunch outside when we visit Terry, a family friend, in Bellevue Hills - but as we leave King’s Wharf, the sun is actually shining and we speed across the harbour looking back at Sydney’s skyline shining bright against the clouds. Ahead of us are the silhouettes of the cranes and warehouses of Cockatoo Island - it’s the sort of quirky dereliction that I love. I wish I’d brought my camera but I know photography within the performance will be restricted. 

It’s warm enough - just about - to enjoy our empanadas and fries sitting at the outside tables, but as we move to the performance seating, the sky darkens threateningly and the wind blows cold.  More layers go on - including G’s waterproof trousers. 

The show starts - we’re restricted to our seats for this first section as motor bikes roar up and down the aisles and into the stage! The orchestra is amplified and in some covered space away from the stage, and G feels there may as well be a backing track; unsurprisingly, the singers are miked up as well. And then our worst fears are realised as the clouds open and we’re quickly drenched….

OK - it might ease off, but there again, it might well get worse. That’s it; we make a decision, and with a fair few others, head off for the public ferry back into the city. And, as if in compensation, we’re treated to some beautiful light across the harbour and the Opera House. 

To be honest, the ferry journey there are back and the chance to see the island is reward enough, and we both feel we’ve made the right decision. We both love seeing classic pieces challenged with new settings and interpretations, but there was definitely not enough of quality to keep us watching Carmen in the cold and wet of an atypical Sydney summer. 

We make our way back to our hotel via the French Christmas market, drinking mulled wine and listening to Christmas songs….. 

I’ve selected a shot of the Opera House as my main - though the lack of light has impacted on quality. There’s an extra of our journey out earlier in the evening. More photos here: 
https://www.flickr.com/photos/196070844@N05/albums/72177720304551827/with/52572594914/

A word about my blipping: I’ve tried to catch up with journals - largely just with stars and hearts. However, I’ve decided now that it is unlikely that I’ll be able to reciprocate whilst I’m away; currently, I’m struggling with tiredness (rather than jet lag) and I really need some down time.   So, I will be posting photos of each day - though many may end up being back-blipped - and I will be posting fairly detailed journal entries as I always do when we are travelling (these will form my travel books when we return). For now at least, I’m keeping comments open; please don’t feel any obligation to comment, but if you do, I’ll endeavour to respond! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.