Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Festive dash

Not only is today special because of the Strictly Final, but it is also the day of our Christmas Bike Parade. A neighbour has the idea to get all the neighbourhood children to decorate and illuminate their bikes for a parade around the local streets, charging an entry fee for charity. As there’s no age limit, I kindly volunteer G  -  offering my bike to the organiser as my medical issues mean cycling is off limits. 


G’s far from enthusiastic, so I’m given the job of pimping up the bike with lights and tinsel - far more difficult and time consuming than I’d anticipated. It looks quite impressive - that is until we see the coloured twirling lights our neighbour’s used. 

The turn out’s not particularly good, but our motley little crew of cyclists and walkers complete a circuit of the streets before returning home for Strictly. 

Of course, photographing the group posing with their bikes is one thing, but capturing them moving is something else completely.  I fail, but decide I rather liked the effect gained from G streaming  past, wheels and helmet studded with fairy lights, but as this is abstract in the extreme, I’ve added an extra of the group. Definitely one for Silly Saturday!

Thank you so much for the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s sunset! All very much appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.