Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Tidal limits

You just never know what magic the setting sun will perform - that’s its beauty. 

Earlier this week, heavy cloud threatened to destroy any light show the end of daylight might create, but even then a subtly bruising beauty still emerged. Today, is the antithesis; there are seemingly no clouds at all, and so although we take a late afternoon stroll along West Shore, I’m expecting little in terms of a sunset flourish.  

So I’m both delighted and surprised to witness the sky bathed in gold and the silhouettes of the Carneddau hills regressing in ever paler inky blues. The tide is far, far out, the vast expanse of mud a fertile plain for wellington-clad anglers digging for lugworms. 

I walk along the sticky mud, occasionally panicked by a sinking feeling as the mud sucks at my boots. I’m aiming for a lagoon of sorts where still water reflects the sun and overflying birds. It’s gloriously peaceful, reminding me just why I walk out to these tidal limits. 


It’s this peaceful setting that finds its way into my main, with an extra showing a young girl helping with the lugworm harvest. 

Thank you for the lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s night shot of Conwy. Apologies for falling behind with comments and responses; I’m trying to catch up I promise. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.