Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Metéora

Meteora meaning "raised from the ground, hanging lofty" 
Metéora the six monasteries "hanging between heaven and earth" and here you see the monastery 'Roussannou' ~ in the extra another of the same monastery

Having a week on mainland Greece before my flight back to Holland, I realized I can squeeze in a quick visit to Meteora to marvel the beautiful site and get some photos myself from this place. My Benjamin had managed to visit this site a month ago, when in Greece and was enchanted by it and I'd planned to visit this place when arriving in Greece, but didn't manage driving far then as I suddenly had my hiking son as passenger with me when he was recovering from an infection (we made a lovely tour across the Peloponnese). 
So I'd rented a car, what's ever so convenient travelling with 40 kilos of luggage! and apart from visiting family and friends I made my tour up to Meteora and Nafplio (1100 kms in 3 days + 100 kms the other 2 days  for visits here and there... I'm from Holland, a small country, where we're not used to long distances).

Backblip 6
Here backblip 5  

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.