Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Winter Solstice Wedding - 1941

I worked for some time yesterday restoring this old photograph on my mother on her wedding day, December 21, 1941.  The old one I had tried to colorize several years ago but was really unable to clean up the photo taken at my grandparent's house in Carmel, NY 82 years ago today.  (I've added the before and after collage in the extras.)  It was so rewarding for me to see her beautiful young (she was only 19 when she married) face smiling in front of the Christmas tree.  I always knew the color of her dress and flowers since I have a hand-colored photo of the wedding party that mom had framed.  This photo was a tiny, faded black and white photo probably taken by my grandfather.  Gift#352: to see into the past more clearly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.