Day nineteen

We’ve almost been here a month. This is the nineteenth, and last, working day (I took the second Friday off work to allow me to visit Osbourne House) and it’s all gone much better than expected.  I do not usually record the day with a picture of person but I decided that I would document today with a short of me at my desk (the dining table) so that I would get to remember the view. I imagine that I won’t be sat working at a desk like this again for a long time. This is the second time this week. I’ve used a picture of this view. I think I’m really going to miss it when we get back to London.

I did my usual morning walk, which I think is probably going to be the last one that I will do here. Yet again, it was a lovely morning although cold. The weather has been so good here I’m not sure that it’s really practical to compare what it’s been like walking by the sea each day to the walk that I take when I am in London. If this was a different year, I’m pretty sure I would’ve been blown off the seafront occasionally.

We took a bunch of photos around the place because I think we’ve both loved the location and the flat itself. This Airbnb is fairly minimal in its style, but it has had everything we need to be able to stay and work from. PY has not had to go back to London at any point and has worked for the entire month without any issues whatsoever. He’s had the slightly bigger desk set up in the bedroom which gave him a view of the hills behind, but I think I won when it came to a view of the sea. 

For our last evening, we decided we would have a meal at Cavanagh and Baker in Shanklin. It came with some nice reviews and it looked pretty stylish. We decided it would be a nice treat for our last night. It was not very busy, but there were a number of other groups there on a Friday night and it had a great atmosphere. The traditional British fare and the wines were wonderful. Service was very friendly and chatty but not over the top. I’m glad we got to celebrate our month, and of course we walked out with plenty of plans to do this whole thing again. Who knows what will happen as we move away from the pandemic and the working from home culture. I would be absolutely delighted to work from somewhere like this on a very regular basis because I think it is very good for easing the stresses of the working day. The commute back has been relatively straightforward and I have been able to go back for everything I needed to - and possibly for at least one thing didn’t really need to be back for but wanted to. 

Because we came with minimal belongings, and on a couple of my return visits to London, I’ve taken back things we were clearly not using, packing up will be relatively straightforward. We started a bit this evening but will do the majority of it tomorrow. There was quite a bit of the day spent looking out at the view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.