biddy

By biddy

With love from Cornwall!

I went up the road to take a card and present for our friend Rosemarie whose birthday is today, Mug of tea and a chat there and then home again to find we’d had a parcel delivered. A lovely Cornish gift hamper from friends who live there,
It contains a Cornish cream tea as well as yummy biscuits and jam, not to mention the Well known Rodda’s Clotted Cream.
I’ve taken a photo and sent it to them to say a big Thankyou!
Another lovely friend rang the doorbell just around lunchtime and had brought a beautiful handmade card and a gift.
After lunch I went to visit Bobbie in the Dementia Care home, Stephen has a bad cold so didn’t come today.
It was a heart wrenching time this afternoon.
She knows Christmas is imminent and has quite a lot of cards in her room.
But she wants to be at home.
I took her in a quiet room away from the main lounge which had chairs and tables and a bar. One of the carers made us a coffee each and another one brought some chocolate cake.
There was absolutely nothing could be done. That is the sadness.
She was constantly in tears or very angry at being what she says “ locked up”. Normally I take something to show her but that would not have helped even if I’d tried.
Her speech is garbled but some words or phrases are still clear. Anyway I will write no more of it it was too distressing,
Her two daughters are coming up from London at Christmas to stay in her home which they are preparing to sell.
They will be with her at the Residential home on Christmas Day, thankfully.
And all I can hear her saying as I left was
“I just want to be in my home”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.