curns' corner

By curns

Sliced

I was very tired when I woke this morning.  I had coffee and toast before work. I really am slacking on my healthy eating. I wonder what it will take to get me back on track? Amir messaged me early on wondering if I was heading to the office. I had to say no. I was staying at home mainly due the chaos on the trains. There are no strikes but a skeleton service is running so you can’t get anywhere reliably right now.  He said, “the reason I am asking a big juicy doughnut is waiting for you on the desk!” So, perhaps, a dietary bullet dodged. The scrambled eggs PY made for lunch were probably one of the healthier things that I ate today.

I had a coupe of emails in my work inbox about the company pension scheme so I thought I would do all the things that need to be done to get online access to the pension policy.  It’s with the same company as a couple of my other pension pots from previous jobs.  I took a look at the sum total of investments and predicted income when I retire and I really wish I hadn’t.  It’s not good to see the value of savings going down. Let’s hope it gets better before I get to that age.

At lunch we were talking about going to the Island for New Years. I think we still will but the number of days we will spend there is reduced as PY feels he needs to be at home on the Friday in case he is called into the office (there being few other UK staff available that day) and, while I could stay into the following week, there have been more strikes announced and that means getting back for some appointments could become problematic. So, we’ll probably just go for the actual holidays.

We were eating up some of the leftovers from Sunday’s Christmas-themed lunch. I didn’t get a picture of PY’s Chicken Wellington after it has been sliced so I took the opportunity to take a picture today. It was just as lovely as Sunday. 

We ate it watching bits of the Royal Variety Show but it didn’t really hold out attention and so we finished the night with the first episode of the new season of Slow Horses. It already feels as good as the first. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.