curns' corner

By curns

Who is this sign for?

I took a Lemsip last night and I slept quite well. That meant that in the end, I woke feeling marginally better than I was yesterday. It still wasn’t much fun sitting on conference calls through the day, but people understand why I decided to turn the camera off after saying hello: nobody wants to see me sneezing constantly. 

I also took one of the newer COVID lateral flow tests that PY purchased on Monday. I’m feeling a bit sorry for him cooped up with me unsure if he is going to get infected or not.  Unfortunately, I did not need the 15 minutes for the test result, come through as it almost immediately showed a positive result. Ironically, that’s a negative.

After work, I was feeling considerably better than I had been doing and thought going out for a bit of a walk for some fresh air might do me some good.  So we left and, while I stood outside, PY bought a festive hot chocolate from Greggs and we took a walk around some of the streets of West Wimbledon. We looped around back past the co-op where, again, I waited outside while a packet of microwave rice was purchased to go with the reheated leftovers from Monday’s curry.  It’s been very fortunate that dinner last night and tonight is reheated leftovers. Having it available has made cooking relatively easy while I’ve not been feeling well. The biggest problem I still have, aside from the runny nose, is that I don’t have a lot of energy. 

While stood outside the Co-op, trying not to look suspicious, I took a photo of this sign. I’d never noticed it before. It seems quite ordinary but it’s facing the Co-op window and I can’t figure out who it’s aimed at. If you were walking along the pavement, in either direction, you’re not going to see it because it’s side-on.  If you are coming down Amity Grove the sign won’t be in front of you. I think it’s a bizarre placement.  I think the man working as security at the door of the Co-op thought I was a bit odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.