curns' corner

By curns

It’s out today ...

About 1:30pm Mark B sent me a Google Meet invite and I hopped on for our Christmas virtual drinks: it’s a bit like our old Thursday evening lockdown drinks but this time it had to be mid-afternoon because he is in Japan with the family. It was lovely to be able to chat and we had an almost three hours with a glass of wine or two (given the early part of the day I had mine very watered down). 

When PY had finished we headed off to Tesco. The first thing I saw as we were wandering looking for some last minute presents, was The Christmas Radio Times. This - and the Christmas TV Times - always mark the true start of the Christmas festivities. In years gone by we would read though this and plan our Christmas viewing.  I am hoping Mum and Dad will have a copy when we get to their house.

Our aim was to get some ingredients because we are doing the starter on Christmas Day in Shrewsbury.  We really struggled to get what we needed: no walnut or dill and some of the other ingredients would have been substitutions. I thought we were getting to the point where we wouldn’t really be making the recipe and so we decided to abandon the idea. I decided that I would just go out tomorrow and get something. So we walked home with a very small amount of shopping. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.