curns' corner

By curns

Turkey

To Enterprise to pick up the rental car. As always, I went for the basic option but it’s Christmas Eve and there’s a number of cars on the lot going unused.  I was offered cheap (I noted that it was never free) upgrade to a Mercedes but it’s too big for me.  I think the guy was half-joking when he suggested the red Mini but I loved it. And it was automatic. I’d never driven an automatic car until a few years go but now I really don’t understand why I’d opt for a manual if there price was the same.  Generally, I stick with manual because of the price difference. I was offered this upgrade for a few pounds more a day and took it. After I got it home and we had packed, it was lovely to drive all the way. I even got the Car Play to work in it but that took a little bit of effort (about 15 minutes parked outside the Shell garage).

About 1pm we stopped for a 45 minute rest and coffee at the Welcome Break on the M40 and and 1h20 m later were pulling into Shrewsbury just after 3pm. Everybody was home.

At some point some wine was knocked over and everybody was very worried about the carpet. Jez spent a long time on his hands and knees cleaning it up and, when he’s finished, you couldn’t tell. I am not sure how he did it but it was very impressive. Every year my mum cooks the turkey - with stuffing and sausages - on Christmas Eve.  It takes some of the pressure of Christmas Day and the turkey is rested and only needs limited reheating.  The temptation is to avoid the sausages until tomorrow. And somebody always fails. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.