Capital adventures

By marchmont

Some days are better than others

Today wasn't one of them.

I started off very tired as I'd sat up researching MP3s till the wee small hours.

Later, it was the monthly team lunch and at Pancho Villa's tomato spurted on the front of my clean t-shirt. Neep!

I spent the afternoon struggling with the technology, with cutting and pasting and tabs, as I updated job descriptions and prepared RAFs for the 4 jobs I have to advertise. We are a growing team.

But it had turned into a beautiful day so at 5.30 I trudged up the hill via 'big' Tesco to get the bus up the even bigger hill, clutching my chilled bottle and my book, sourced from the PDSA. A couple of hours in the sunny back garden beckoned.

The Film Festival opening event was on at the Festival Theatre and the photographers and a few locals were waiting for 'famous people'. (Turns out there were quite a few. I'd have liked to have seen Ewen McGregor). I took a few pics with no traffic, always a challenge on Nicolson St, and carried on homeward. I passed Duncan Hendry, manager of Edinburgh Theatres, in his bow tie and with a glammed up woman by his side. (There were a lot of glammed up people getting out of taxis). I knew Duncan from our ACC days, but I could hardly say ' hello' , in hot trudge mode and a tomato stained T Shirt.

So home, and NO KEYS. No keys anywhere and #3 son on 10-6 and E, who has the spare key, on Cyprus. It transpired later that her son was also out. Got hold of #3 son, who was on his way to the cinema, and after a lot of hoo ha and upset we met up in town and an hour and half later I got in the house, exhausted. Bit too late for a seat in the garden so I phoned Y for a long chat and felt a bit better but couldn't be bothered cooking the chicken I'd defrosted.

I couldn't even summon up the energy to wait for the sunset. And then my trusty MP3, my bedside radio, died. Well it is 6+ years old. No R4, no World Service to keep me company and distract my thoughts in the night.

And so to my blip, and it turns out the 2 'clear' shots, no traffic, no random man in a blue shirt, both had my fingers over the lens, always the downside of quick landscape shots on my cameraphone. It is quite a nice blue shirt though. I can now see that a some interesting reflections of 18th century Surgeon's Hall reflected in the 90's glass front.

And my keys - house, office, car, are still in the petty cash tin, where N had left them this afternoon. And she was still in the office at 7, when I eventually phoned.

Thursday will be better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.