Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WE HAVE ARRIVED!

Today was the day we were due to collect Amanda_T and then we were all going to drive down to Bluestone Wales for our Christmas Break together.

One look at Mr. HCB's face when he saw how many bags were in our hall was enough to tell me that he was not confident that it would all go in the car - and we have an HRV, so not a small car!

We eventually managed to get the various bags, suitcases and rucksacks in and off we went.  We made very good time and arrived within an hour.  Amanda was pleased to see us, but the same cannot be said of Mr. HCB when he saw the humungous number of bags, suitcases and parcels that still had to be put into the car.  In fact, he just wandered away shaking his head and I think went back out to the car to have a quick sob!  

Amanda and I said that we would put the food from the fridge and freezer into separate bags, whereupon Mr. HCB almost fainted and said "There's more?"  Amanda and I said that if he wanted to eat then yes, there was more, so he quickly said that he would sort out the car, which bless him, he duly did.

Louise, one of Amanda's neighbours, wandered over to have a look and her face said it all!  In fact, she took the bottom right photograph for us just to show how much stuff we had.  In fact, I got blamed for having a birthday on Boxing Day, making more presents than usual!  Mr. HCB and Amanda between them did a sterling job, the only problem being that Amanda had to be levered in to the car and then her crochet and guitar and other small things had to be lodged around her, but we made it eventually.

Mind you, I was just as bad, because I had my knitting bag and the computer bag plus books etc around me in the footwell, but it wasn't that bad and once we got going, Amanda got out her crochet and I started another glove, so we were well away - all Mr. HCB had to do was drive us and listen to our chat, joining in whenever he could get a word in edgeways.

We stopped for lunch at a Service Station and enjoyed more chat and also watching the antics of a man who moved a chair, watched the leg fall off and then promptly picked up the leg screwed the leg back in and sat on the chair.  Amanda and I were giggling as he was rather a large man and we had visions of him falling off.  I had noticed a screw on the floor, so told him about it, whereupon he upended the chair, put another screw back in while we walked off wishing him a Merry Christmas!  

I couldn't let today go by without remembering my Mum who passed away on the 22nd December 2019 - I can't believe it is four years since she went and still remember her especially when knives are crossed because she was rather superstitious and often shouted "Uncross those knives" whenever that happened.  Obviously there are other things that remind us of her too and I still feel a little pang when I see Violet Creams in Aldi - and although I hate them with a vengeance, she loved them.

As well as Mum, it is the 6 month anniversary of Amanda's dear David's passing on 22nd June of this year - so the photograph in my collage is one I took back in September 2022 on one of our visits.  We have had great fun chatting about David and Mum and of course, Amanda's Mum, Deanna, who died in May 2022.  Blip has brought us all together and for that we are very grateful - and I'm sure we will have a great time - one thing is for sure, we will have lots of laughs together.

Stay safe especially if you are travelling - we were blessed with sunshine all the way down to South West Wales and we hope that you all have a great time in these last few days before Christmas.    M & J & A xxx

P.S.  Meant to say it's good to know a local - Amanda brought us over the old bridge, which saved a lot of angst! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.